The storytelling capitol of Texas
GEORGE WEST - The city of George West was a land venture and ranching enterprise of San Antonian George W. West and his wife Kittie. Mr. West started to build the town in 1913 after having ranched the area from 1880 to 1912. The land south of the Nueces River was a Spanish territory with first recorded explorations in the first part of the nineteenth century. Spanish and Mexican settlers were here to greet the first Irish settlers in 1828. During this time
the Texas Revolution brought Mexican soldiers through the land grants held by the settlers who were already in the county. In 1912, Mr. George West sold his cattle to colonize his 75,000 acres. Capital of $100,000 and free passage through thirteen miles of his land lured the railroad to the future townsite. Mr. West offered $75,000 in cash to build the courthouse if the county seat would be moved from Oakville. This decision was made by election in 1918. In addition to
securing the railroad and beginning the courthouse, Mr. West built schools, roads, bridges, a hotel, waterworks, fire protection, and a light plant. Land was deeded to the churches in the townsite by Mr. West. The county courthouse is the centerpieces of the town. The Live Oak Centennial 1856-1956 book, which is the source for most of this information, notes that Mr. West knew the value of good roads and transportation to and through the county. In 1918, he spent $6,385.78 building roads leading into George West. Oil and gas production, ranching, agriculture, hunting and fishing dominate the industry of George West. Lake Corpus Christi is 20 miles south of George West. This beautiful lake
offers homesites and recreation for Live Oak Countians and many weekend residents from Corpus Christi and area towns live near the lake.
The city of George West was incorporated in 1946 and the city government was changed to home rule in 1980. The first grocery store was built by C.Z. Canfield in 1914. The first post office was maintained in the store beginning in 1914. The Buck West House, once the home of the nephew of Mr. George West, is one of the oldest homes in the town. Through the efforts of city volunteers and donors, the City of George West, the George West Chamber of Commerce, and with a grant from the Meadows Foundation, the house was moved, roofed, restored, and remodeled. Much of the labor was provided by inmates from the vocational class of the Federal Corrections Institution - Three Rivers. The Buck West House is available for community gatherings, cultural, artistic, and educational events, and also houses the Chamber of Commerce office. The Buck West House sits in the middle of Longhorn Park on Highway 281 between Fannin and Austin Streets. FMI: 888-909-3514 or 361-449-2033.